The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has released a list of candidates the party is supporting to emerge as leaders of the ninth National Assembly.

The party made its decision known at the end of its National Working Committee (NWC) emergency meetings held on Saturday 8 and Sunday 9 of June 2019.

According to press release signed by the APC National Publicity Secretary, Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu, the party formally adopted Senator Ovie Omo-Agege for the position of Deputy Senate President and Hon. Muhammed Idris Wase as Deputy Speaker.

The statement added that the resolution was taken in wide consultations with President Muhammadu Buhari, party stakeholders, including APC governors.

The party had earlier announced the duo of Senator Ahmed Lawan and Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila as the party’s candidates for the positions of Senate President and Speaker of House Representatives respectively.

“All elected APC members of the Senate and House of Representatives are hereby directed to fully mobilise as a united force behind the party’s choice.”

“Members who have earlier signified interests in these positions are urged to support the party’s decisions as loyal and committed members of APC by working with other members to ensure the emergence of the adopted candidates,” the party statement added.

The ninth National Assembly will be inaugurated on Tuesday, 11th June 2019.

Facebook Comments
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348113446514


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.