Connect with us


NUC Presents Provisional Licenses To 37 Private Universities (see Full List)



The Executive Secretary, NUC, Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, at the presentation of provisional licences to the universities, said that the number of private universities in the country now stood at 147 and a total of 264 Universities in all.

El-Amin University has, as its proprietor, El-Amin Nigeria Limited, and its Chairman of Trustees as General Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida (Rtd).

Azman University has its proprietor as Azman Group of Companies Limited and Barr. Ado Muhammad Ma’aji as the Chairman Board of Trustees.

Azman, the company that has been in the oil business for sometime, floated an airline recently before acquiring new licence to venture in the education sector.

1. Rayhaan University, Birnin-Kebbi, Kebbi State.
2. Muhammad Kamalu-Deen University, Ilorin, Kwara State.
3. Sam Maris University, Supare, Ondo State.
4. Aletheia University, Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State.
5. Lux Mundi University, Umuahia, Abia State,
6. Maduka University, Ekwegbe-Nsukka, Enugu State.
7. Peaceland University, Enugu, Enugu State,
8. Amadeus University, Amizi, Abia State.
9. Vision University, Ikogbo, Ogun State.
10. Azman University, Kano, Kano State.
11. Huda University, Gusau, Zamfara State.
12. Franco British International University, Kaduna, Kaduna State.
13. Canadian University of Nigeria, Abuja, FCT.
14. Miva Open University, Abuja, FCT.
15. Gerar University of Medical Sciences, Imope-Ijebu, Ogun State.
16. British Canadian University, Obudu, Cross River State.
17. Hensard University, Toru-Orua, Bayelsa State.
18. Phoenix University, Agwada, Nasarawa State.
19. Wigwe University, Isiokpo, Rivers State.
20. Hillside University of Science and Technology, Okemesi, Ekiti State.
21. University on the Niger, Umunya, Anambra State.
22. Elrazi University of Medical Sciences, Kano, Kano State.
23. Venite University, Iloro-Ekiti, Ekiti State.
24. Shanahan University, Onitsha, Anambra State.
25. The Duke Medical University, Calabar, Cross River State.
26. Mercy Medical University, Iwara, Iwo, Osun State.
27. Cosmopolitan University, Abuja, FCT.
28. Iconic Open University, Sokoto, Sokoto State.
29. West Midland Open University, Ibadan, Oyo State.
30. Amaj University, Kwali, FCT.
31. Prime University, Kuje, FCT.
32. El-Amin University, Niger State.
33. College of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Kaduna State.
34. Jewel University, Gombe, Gombe State.
35. Nigerian University of Technology and Management, Apapa, Lagos State.
36. Al-Muhibbah Open University, Abuja, FCT.
37. Al-Bayan University, Ankpa, Kogi State.


Hardship: Protesters Defy Police Warning, Hit Lagos Streets



Residents have hit the streets of Lagos State to protest against the increasing spike in the price of food and the high cost of living in the country.

The protest was facilitated by a human rights group identified as the “Take It Back Movement.”

This comes against the warning issued by the Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Adegoke Fayoade, on Sunday.

The protesters were seen carrying placards of various inscriptions at Ojuelegba Under Bridge area of the state to express their grievances.

Continue Reading


CBN Lifts Ban On BDCs, Introduces New Operational Mechanism



In a major development aimed at financial stability and strengthening the naira, the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) plans to resume its weekly intervention in the country’s foreign exchange (FX) market through the Bureau de Change (BDC) operators.

In 2021, the central bank, in a bid to achieve its mandate of safeguarding the value of the local currency, ensuring financial system stability, and shoring up external reserves, announced the immediate discontinuance of foreign currency sales to Bureau de Change (BDC) operators in the country.

However, the resumed intervention, which would reportedly commence today for funding as well as Tuesday for collection, will see the apex bank inject FX into the subsector in a bid to rescue the naira from further depreciation against major currencies, particularly the US Dollar. The collection will be at designated CBN branches in Lagos, Abuja, Kano, and Awka, while details of the naira accounts to be credited for funding bidding will also be made available today.

CBN is also expected to publish the list of eligible BDCs to benefit from its funding using certain compliance criteria.National Executive Council of Association of Bureau De Change Operators of Nigeria (ABCON) hinted on the latest developments through a memo to its members over the weekend.

The association also warned members that it will no longer be business as usual under the new supervisory regime of the central bank, as any infringement or infraction would result in outright revocation of license and prosecution.

ABCON said through the association’s various engagements with the central bank, in conjunction with ABCON’s strategic partners, CBN had agreed to its request, under the bank’s supervision, to inject liquidity into the market through a weekly intervention beginning today.

CBN assured ABCON that the new circular on the Revised Regulatory and Supervisory Guidelines to BDCs, which was introduced over the weekend, was only a draft exposure that required the association’s inputs before the release of the final guidelines by the apex bank.

To that effect, the letters of the guidelines were not cast in stone, the association’s leadership told its members, who had been worried over the sweeping reforms in the document, which, among other things, prescribed N2 billion and N500 million minimum capital for national and state BDCs, respectively.

Continue Reading